The rewards of trumpet practice.

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by the newbie, Dec 8, 2011.

1. the newbie

the newbie Pianissimo User

Jan 27, 2011
    San Francisco
    I'm new to it all, i've been teaching myself for just about 2 and a half years and i started off playing chromatics from the C under the lines and worked up to middle G and then lower to low F and got all those notes relatively easy. Then there was a little struggle going up with A and B and C. (Looking back i wish i had started with the G and pushed up and down from there), now im working up above c with D E and F and my goal is the G on staff which about 2 months ago when i started climbing those notes were out of my reach, but now after a little discipline in my practice/improvement Those notes have fallen into my grasp and im just trying to hold them now as long as i want. (at this point i am not really looking to go up further, I just want to master and be confident with this range) I just want to say that the reward from trying to hit these notes which seemed impossible to me, but then later after some dedicated practice, they just almost majically just fall into reach, makes me happier than a pig in Sh*T. That to me is the REWARD, and if more people actually tried to learn an instrument they would undoutbtly have much more respect for musicians today and music in general, watching artists on screen or live they make it look so easy!!

2. jiarby

jiarby Fortissimo User

May 7, 2011
    Arizona
    I agree with you...
    Practice is a miracle! It is great when you can do something now that seemed impossible a couple months ago.

A tip... record your sessions now and then so you can really compare. When you play something for the 1st time record it. Then later you can REALLY be awed by the power of practice.

3. BrotherBACH

BrotherBACH Piano User

Oct 5, 2010