The Rubank books

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by misty.sj, Jan 7, 2013.

1. misty.sj

misty.sj Forte User

Jan 27, 2008
    Brisbane, Australia
    What do you guys think about the Rubank books. There are Elementary, Intermediate, and Advanced. When I was in school band, we started out with a series called "Best In Class" when we were absolute beginners, then moved on to just doing music we were going to perform, along with some warm-ups and etudes as prescribed by the director. I didn't have private lessons, well I think I had a handful but not a regime.

But I was the music librarian when I was in high school, and I discovered these Rubank books by finding a really ratty copy of the Intermediate method for French horn (which I was playing then). I checked out the book and worked through it on my own, along with the recital music I was practicing for university auditions. After the Intermediate, I picked up the Advanced. I will admit that most of it was beyond me.

I have since bought the whole set for French horn (these are in storage) and I think I've bought it for trumpet before, but I have no idea where they have gone. As part of my come-back endeavor, I picked up the whole set once again for trumpet, along with a new shiny copy of Arban. The books have just arrived, and they are just as good as I remembered.

Everything in the Elementary one looks like I could sit down today and play it again. The range isn't too bad and the music is relatively simple. I think these will help tons with my tone, and just having face time on the horn.

The Intermediate book starts to look challenging about halfway through. There are lots of lyrical studies, duets, and technical things, as well as lots of scale studies, lip slurs, etc.

The Advanced book looks wicked! It has 32nd notes!