The Shame... (Writing down fingerings)

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Overtones, Dec 5, 2011.

1. Overtones

Overtones New Friend

Oct 24, 2010
    I am a beginner playing the arban's. When I am through for the night struggling to play the next
    exercise I go back to good ol' #6 from the first studies trying to end my disasteress pratice session
    on a good note. I don't look at the music because I know the dynamics by heart. I just look at the
    valve positions there printed for me on the page. I don't know, if the whole book had the music and
    valve positions written for you maybe it would be easier to play from. When I was in school
    and played trombone I wrote the slide positions below the music and I always played better that way
    if I knew how the song went all I needed were the slide positions. Why can't I just play the trumpet the
    same way. I think I would cover more ground faster. I just can't sight read well enough and I never could. No more messing up the fingering and wondering why you suck or long pauses...
    What's that note. What are your thoughts.

2. Vulgano Brother

Vulgano Brother Moderator Staff Member

Mar 23, 2006
    Parts Unknown
    Rolf Quinque used to write in his fingerings while principal trumpet in Munich. No shame if you can play. Rolf could.

3. stumac

stumac Fortissimo User

Oct 19, 2008
    Flinders Vic Australia
    Playing the trumpet is a learning process and many thousands of repetitions are required to establish the neural pathways in the brain required to co-ordinate the eyes, ears, lips, breath and ears to the point where one can see a printed note, hear its sound in the head and automatically play it.

When we learned to read in school we firstly learned the alphabet and the sound of the letters and then the words and their sound until we do not have to analyze a word to know its sound. The same with music except there are extra processes to be learned.