The variables of motivation

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by tpter1, Sep 24, 2005.

1. tpter1

tpter1 Forte User

Jan 12, 2005
    Northern New York
    I began writing this on another thread, but thought twice, and thought it is actually its own topic.

As a music teacher, my performing schedule is quite open. (As is the case with many public school teachers; in comparison to working professionals). So my question is this:

How does one, not being a professional or no longer taking lessons maintain accountability in playing? What motivators exist? I spend about 1 1/2 - 3 hours over the course of a day practicing; some of that is just playing, some is actually practicing, to be honest. But if there was greater accountability, like "Let's see...recording session this week, young people's concerts this weekend, quintet at the church", well, you get the picture; instead of "hmm...well...nothing coming for another 5 weeks". That is liberating, but holds alot less accountability; the lack of structure or demand on your abillities can also allow you to get lazy.

Something I am doing to combat this is just applying for auditions nearby whenever I hear of or see an opening. Any other ideas? What pushes/motivates you?

2. Chris4

Chris4 Pianissimo User

Jul 16, 2005
    What motivates me of course are great players. They motivate me to become better and to keep trying. What you're doing right now(applying for auditions) is good but here are some other ideas: You could make a card advertising what you do, post an ad at your local church, start teaching private lessons etc..Just try to get the word out as best you can.

3. dizforprez

dizforprez Forte User

Nov 2, 2003
    Glenn,