Thick lips, bottom lip not properly in mouthpiece, double on saxophone - help?!

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by robininthewinds, May 5, 2013.

1. robininthewinds

robininthewinds New Friend

Apr 14, 2013
    Hello.
    So I've been playing trumpet for 5 years now, I got my Grade 6 about 2 years ago and since then have been working towards Grade 8.
    I've always played with this deformed embrochure, where my top lip is in the mouthpiece but my bottom lip is 'kind of' in it.
    That red ring that forms over your lip when you play trumpet? That's entirely on my top lip.
    My lips are quite big and I'm using a Vincent Bach 1-1/2 mouthpiece.

To further pile on the problems, I recently started playing the saxophone, which is affecting my playing. Of course the logical thing to do would be to stop playing the saxophone, but it's a breath of fresh air, I really like my teacher, and at the moment I'm having a lot more fun on the saxophone than on the trumpet.

The only thing that is keeping me from dropping the trumpet is the fact that I'm in a school band, not one of the good ones, but it's not something that I want to stop doing.
    I know that getting some kind of diagnosis over the internet is hopeful thinking, but are there any tips you could give me?

Would a bigger mouthpiece help? I used to play on a 7C, then got a 1-1/2C and whilst it might have helped, my lips still don't fit properly.
    Is 1-1/2C basically the biggest you can go? I googled it and couldn't really find any bigger mouthpieces.

I tried forming that 'Emmm' sound and curling my lips, but as soon as I play with that they just go back to my old formation (top lip in, bottom lip kind of in)

Thanks

2. gmonady

gmonady Utimate User

Jan 28, 2011
    Dayton, Ohio
    Have you tried centering your mouthpiece in the past? If so, what happened. Do you have an overbite or micrognathia (small lower jaw)? If so, perhaps surgical correction may be necessary.

3. Brekelefuw