Thoughts on embouchure

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by KennyW, Feb 16, 2015.

1. KennyW

KennyW New Friend

Feb 11, 2015
    Since I was playing from fourth grade to eight grade, I never thought about my embouchure, I simply focused on the music I was playing and the tone I was producing. I was always a little above average, and when I started practicing for hours consistently in eighth grade, I had a very consistent high Eb with good tone and control. My lip trills and slurs were also very proficient in all ranges of my instrument.

However going to a jazz camp that I attend every summer, one of my instructors pointed out that I smiled when I played (pulled corners back), and that this was bad and should be corrected immediately. I did more research and found out that many highly acclaimed high note players, Arturo Sandoval, Maynard, etc. don't infact smile and that was shocking to me. It was very emotional to me that I had worked so hard for so many years, but I was just perpetuating a broken embouchure. My teacher told me that because I was doing so well, he didn't want to mess with it, however now that I had brought it up, he suggested I look into the Maggio method.

That summer of eighth grade I worked diligently to reconstruct my embouchure so that it would be more correct. It was extremely hard and troubling hearing my tone and range go down the toilet, but I told myself it would be worth it.

Fast forward to present, I am half-way through my freshman year. I have made no noticeable improvements certainly I have not succeeded my previous accomplishments range wise, though my tone has improved. However, as I practice more I find myself resorting to the smiling method once again to reach higher notes, and like before they yield a high register with good control and tone.

I ask you guys, as I am very confused and somewhat depressed with this issue, what should I do?

2. shooter

shooter Piano User

Jan 12, 2007
    VA