thoughts on the Leblanc T357 trumpet

Discussion in 'Horns' started by msu_ggtrumpet, Apr 27, 2005.

1. msu_ggtrumpet

msu_ggtrumpet New Friend

Apr 27, 2005
    McNeese State University
    i am currently a freshman in college and looking to buy an all around trumpet(within a college budget price range). i am looking for opinions on the Leblanc T357. please help. any other horn suggestions please let me know.

2. trickg

trickg Utimate User

Oct 26, 2003
    Baltimore/DC
    "College budget price range" means different things for different people.

If you give us a dollar figure we could help you out a bit more.

3. msu_ggtrumpet

msu_ggtrumpet New Friend

Apr 27, 2005
    McNeese State University
    the college budget

Sorry about the confusion. I am looking at a top price of about two thousand. Maybe more if the right horn presents itself.

4. W Scott

W Scott Piano User

Dec 8, 2003
    Carson City, NV.
    Right now, on E-Bay is a Calicchio 1s/2 in beautiful shape for $1300. You can't go wrong with that horn. I also just saw a 1948 Conn 22B sell for $150 on E-Bay, and these are some of the best all around horns ever.

5. bigaggietrumpet

bigaggietrumpet Mezzo Forte User

Jan 23, 2004
    Nazareth, PA
    Opinions on LeBlanc- they're hit or miss. Some play really well, while others aren't worth half of what they're selling for.

Some ideas:
    Kanstul ZKT 1503
    Calicchio (model number depends on what you want it for and what your tastes are)
    Schilke B6
    The Phaeton (New York Trumpet Company)

There's probably a lot of other ones (and realize I am leaving out a BUNCH of solid vintage horns), just look around. I've been looking since I was freshman, too. I'm now a sophomore and yet to buy. Just take your time, play a lot of trumpets, and choose with care.

6. msu_ggtrumpet

msu_ggtrumpet New Friend

Apr 27, 2005
    McNeese State University
    the phaeton