Tips on becoming a Pro

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by daveduder, May 12, 2015.

1. daveduder

daveduder New Friend

May 3, 2015
    Hi all,
    I have been playing the trumpet for about 5 years now and in the seventh grade. I thoroughly enjoy playing the trumpet and am looking at trying to become a professional someday. I know there are some great players on this forum, Open to all advice!

A little background info:
    Played in the California All-State JH Jazz Band
    I play in my local Youth symphony (Most advanced level)
    I study with Dan Norris

Thanks!
    Dave

2. Sethoflagos

Sethoflagos Utimate User

Aug 7, 2013
    Lagos, Nigeria
    Welcome!

TOP TIP: Take whatever opportunities come your way, but also make sure you have a Plan B.

3. Dennis78

Dennis78 Fortissimo User

Feb 1, 2015
    Cincinnati
    Make plan B plan A. Being a pro musician is a tough road. Good luck, do good in school and never limit yourself to any specific style

4. TrumpetMD

TrumpetMD Fortissimo User

Oct 22, 2008
    Maryland
    Best of luck in your goal to become a professional musician. It sounds like you've had some good accomplishments so far.

This question gets asked from time-to-time. And we often get the suggestions about "Plan B". I'm not saying the "Plan B" route is correct or incorrect. But I will say my wife and I both did this. We're both transferred out of music programs before finishing college. For us, having a good-paying day job gives us the freedom to play the music we want.

If you're interested in this possibility, it might help to talk to some of the Plan B-ers, to seek their advice (those who play professionally, but have regular day jobs). Nick Drozdoff is one such person. I don't know if he's a member here, but his site is Nick Drozdoff: Home. He's a nice guy, that I've taken a couple lessons from. Gary Onady is another suggestion (gmonady here on TrumpetMaster).

Mike

5. jiarby

jiarby Fortissimo User

May 7, 2011
    Arizona