TMJ Problem

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Newell Post, Dec 2, 2015.

1. Newell Post

Newell Post Piano User

Mar 31, 2014
    Silicon Valley
    For about the past week, I have been having a small problem with my left TMJ. ("Temporomandibular joint", the "hinge" of the jaw.) It isn't terrible, but I don't want to make it worse. When I wake up in the morning, it is stiff and sore, but it loosens up during the day. It doesn't seem to affect my playing. I have known saxophone players with this problem, but not trumpet players.

I know. I know. I should go ask a doctor or dentist. But I'm checking with the trumpet players first. If you have ever had this problem, please let me know what (if any) worked best:

1. Give it a rest, and lay off for a few days?
    2. Do some special exercises?
    3. Avoid straining for the high range?
    4. Avoid dropping the jaw for the low range?
    5. Other?

I'm not a professional. I'm a 61 year old architect who plays recreationally for church ensembles, big bands, and other miscellaneous.

Thanks.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Temporomandibular_joint

2. stumac

stumac Fortissimo User

Oct 19, 2008
    Flinders Vic Australia
    Are you pushing your jaw forward while playing? I feel this is to be avoided.

Regards, Stuart.

3. Newell Post

Newell Post Piano User

Mar 31, 2014
    Silicon Valley
    Good question, stumac. I don't think I push the jaw forward while playing. But what I have been doing to try to strengthen my aging embouchure is the "pencil exercise." (Holding a pencil straight out with the lips as long as possible as an isometric exercise. Rest. Repeat.)

This has worked for me in the past to help improve range and endurance. (And you can do it while driving in the car or doing other non-trumpet things like working in the office.) But it also might be straining the jaw and pushing it forward.