Tone assistance.

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by tkdstevie, Feb 24, 2013.

Tags:
  1. tkdstevie

tkdstevie New Friend

Feb 22, 2013
    Hello, I am a college sophomore majoring in music performance, and recently my teacher has pointed out a major flaw in my playing. Half the time when I change notes, my pitch is not centered correctly, and my tone ends up sounded flat, and what many of the other Brass Professors have described as "dull". Thankfully this doesn't happen all the time (and I am working on it by doing lots of long tones, and also routines where I try to buzz the correct pitch on the mouthpiece.) However I was wondering if anyone has any other suggestions, since I really want to get this problem fixed as soon as possible.

2. barliman2001

barliman2001 Fortissimo User

Jul 5, 2010
    Vienna, Austria, Europe
    Sounds as if your embouchure is not centered within the mouthpiece, or that you are actually playing a mouthpiece that is too big for you. If you could do a few pics and a youtube video of your playing, it would help enormously with diagnosis. Otherwise, it's like shoveling smoke in a dark room...

3. gmonady

gmonady Utimate User

Jan 28, 2011
    Dayton, Ohio
    Agree with above. Aim the flow of air into that little hole at the other end. Do it with ease and relaxation, and don't force it.

4. Vulgano Brother

Vulgano Brother Moderator Staff Member

Mar 23, 2006
    Parts Unknown
    Learn how to make yourself sound "dull" on command. Analyze what you do to accomplish that, then don't do it anymore.

5. Vulgano Brother

Vulgano Brother Moderator Staff Member

Mar 23, 2006
    Parts Unknown
    Oh, and welcome to TM, tkdstevie!

6. Pete Anderson

Pete Anderson Pianissimo User

Feb 27, 2008
    [​IMG]

7. Pete Anderson

Pete Anderson Pianissimo User

Feb 27, 2008