Tone Quality

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by jazztrpt006, Jul 16, 2008.

1. jazztrpt006

jazztrpt006 New Friend

Jul 16, 2008
    Wpg, Mb
    Hey guys i have a quick question concerning my tone quality. I am in the means of wanting to fix/improve my tone so that it sounds less forced/pinchy if you will and more free blowing (ex. roy hargrove, freddie hubbard, etc..) I've been playing the trumpet for just over 6 years so I'm no beginner. I play on a Bach 37G with a kanstul B6 (monette like copy) mouthpiece. Many people say to practice long tones, lip slurs, ect... But does anyone have any comments on that or anything new that you would like to share?
    I'm getting ready for University in the fall so any advice would be appreciated!

jazztrpt006

2. Vulgano Brother

Vulgano Brother Moderator Staff Member

Mar 23, 2006
    Parts Unknown
    Welcome to TM, jazztrpt006!

Long tones can be very good if we concentrate on getting the room to vibrate. It is not just a case of holding a note a long time, but building resonance in space--kinda weird, but fun at the same time!

In talking about tone quality, there is not just the overtone structure to consider--the attack and release are important as well. Being able to record ourselves and play it back is a great tool, and if we can play it back at half-speed it can show many a defect.

Important too is letting our trumpet find its own voice, uhh, also hard to explain, but it is another resonance issue, letting our mouthpiece and trumpet do what they were meant to.

In the end, the people with the "most beautiful" sounds also tend to be the most musical.

Funny how that works!

Have fun!

3. jazztrpt006

jazztrpt006 New Friend

Jul 16, 2008
    Wpg, Mb