Tone Quality

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Trumpet Dreamer, Aug 24, 2010.

1. Trumpet Dreamer

Trumpet Dreamer Mezzo Forte User

Aug 14, 2010
    Jazz Town, USA
    As a new student, I have a question about tone. Is it the mouthpiece, or is it the horn that is the determining factor on tone?
    I have a YTR-2335S with a Bach 3C. The lower register can sound full and round, but starting at middle C and up the tone will get on the edgy side of bright. Perhaps it is just me. I read on another forum that tone quality was 90% mp and 10% horn. Is this true?

2. keehun

keehun Piano User

Feb 4, 2010
    Minnesota
    Actually...

Tone Quality is: 99.998% you + 0.001% Horn + 0.001% Mouth piece.

If you are talking about tone color, that's a different story.

Take it easy. If you try to push your range when it's physically not possible (for great tone quality), one tends to develop bad bad habits that will haunt them for a long time (like, me!)

The 99.998% you is comprised of a good teacher, good practicing, and YOUR EARS. YOU MUST focus and concentrate on what the ear hears. Also, listen a LOT to real good recordings. You will learn things that can't be taught by listening to great players.

3. Trumpet Dreamer

Aug 14, 2010
    Jazz Town, USA
    I stand corrected.....what I should have asked about was tone color!

Thanks!

4. keehun

keehun Piano User

Feb 4, 2010
    Minnesota
    I still think we are talking about tone quality.

Your primary issue seems to be bad tone quality above the middle staff C. That "problem" can't be corrected by a mouthpiece. If you get a edgy sound to it, it's because you are using too much pressure (and/or not enough air).