tongue and lips

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by ohmss, Nov 20, 2008.

1. ohmss

ohmss New Friend

Feb 14, 2008
    I took up trumpet at a later age (40) and have been playing for just over a year.
    I notice that my tongue touches my lips slightly, between notes.
    It makes things a little 'sloppy' when playing quickly.
    Should the tongue touch the lips?

Thank You,
    Bruce

2. rowuk

rowuk Moderator Staff Member

Jun 18, 2006
    Germany
    In Germany we teach this. It is an excellent way to get a very positive attack (especially when playing extremely softly!) or a very secco staccato. I have been practicing this for over 30 years and have found no down side, so I say it is an addition to all of the other articulative possibilities not to worry about!

3. Xelex

Xelex New Friend

Nov 19, 2008
    That's actually a pretty controversial issue, if it is what I think it is you're saying.

Callet advocates tonguing between the teeth in his system; several other musicians believe tonguing between the teeth is a very, very bad habit.

If its a fast passage, try using different syllables to tongue it in my opinion, for example a legato note would be du, staccato would be tee. When I say tee, my tongue touches the roof of my mouth.

It all comes down to what works for you individually, really.

4. rowuk

Jun 18, 2006
    Germany
    Xelex,
    many of the things that have been taught have a base no longer known or understood. I would be interested in the REASONING behind this myth. There certainly is no mechanical or geometrical reason. There is a world of articulation out there that should be taught BEFORE considering what to forbid.

Almost any consonant can be used when playing and the following I have seen in various methods, some dating back to the 1600s: T, D, L, R, N, G, K, Th.