Tongue issue

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by DISHOA, Mar 31, 2010.

1. DISHOA

DISHOA New Friend

Mar 31, 2010
    Hi, I've been playing the trumpet for about twelve years and my problem si fast single tonguing. I asked my teacher and he said it's because I don't touch by tip of tongue behind the front teeth but between them and slightly touching a tip of my upper lip. It breaks my the tone and I can't tongue fast.

I've tried, as my teacher told me, buzzing on my lips without the trumpet and I can articulate 'Tu' with my tounge behind the teeth but once I put the mouthpiece on my lips I can't get the tongue there, only between my teeth. I don't know what to do to get rid of this habit.

2. rowuk

rowuk Moderator Staff Member

Jun 18, 2006
    Germany
    DISHOA,
    there are many roads that lead to successful tonguing and some involve tonguing directly on the lips - even although in America there seems to be the notion that this is bad. In Germany, it is a common technique and believe me the players here do not tongue more slowly.

The key to fast is slow. You need to grab your Arban book and just start working on clean attacks, then speed them up gradually. Do not tongue for extended periods at your upper limit. The basic coordination is NEVER available there and you reinforce irregular. My students start with 16ths at MM=80 first and when they are "perfect" then we jump to MM=100, then MM=120. I do not believe in sneaking up in small increments. We define the next step and work towards it. If it doesn't work, then we back up to the previous step.

That all being said, fast tonguing means getting your breathing down. Wimpy breathing means wimpy articulation.

3. RichJ

RichJ Piano User

Jan 16, 2008
    Northern Virginia