Tongue position

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by JHSTrumpet, Mar 10, 2012.

1. JHSTrumpet

JHSTrumpet New Friend

May 21, 2011
    USA
    I've been playing trumpet for several years, but I think I've been tonguing the wrong way the whole time. I've always wondered why I couldn't tongue fast and why it sounds so wet and sloppy. When I tongue, I put it on my bottom lip and kinda between my teeth. I've tried tonguing with my tongue on the roof of my mouth, but it sounds like I can't articulate correctly. Can someone tell me the correct position for my tongue, and how to correctly do it?

2. codyb226

codyb226 Banned

Mar 9, 2011
    Florida, US
    Hi JHSTrumpet. As you thought, you are tonguing wrong. Ta, Tue, and Dit are good ways to tongue. Try it out. That is all there is too it, ta, tue, dit.

Where in Florida are you in? It may be good to meet a player to know how to play. Are you located in the central area? I live in Ocala and Mark Kindy(A member here that knows his stuff) Lives in Gainsville. Dont worry, we dont bite! ROFL

3. JHSTrumpet

JHSTrumpet New Friend

May 21, 2011
    USA
    I live close to the Florida-Alabama border. My director is a trombone player, so she doesn't help much. She said she would bring in a guy named Lacey Powell, I think, to help the trumpets, so maybe he'll give me tips. Thanks for the advice though

4. codyb226

codyb226 Banned

Mar 9, 2011
    Florida, US
    Kinda far for us, but if someone is coming in then you will be good. Others will have more to say and its really late here as you know. So I will leave it up to the others.

5. Mark_Kindy

Mark_Kindy Mezzo Forte User

Jul 11, 2010
    Gainesville, FL
    To my knowledge, it is the general case that one will tongue in an area just behind the upper teeth, although it may vary vertically from player to player, or for each note you play.
    However, there are other ways of tonguing ---