Tonguing

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by willens, Jun 6, 2010.

1. willens

willens New Friend

Jun 6, 2010
    Hello,

I was wondering if there was any way that I may be able to correct my tonguing technique. My protrudes through my lips and I can't tongue clearly in the middle register. My articulation is choppy and slow and doesn't have that "pop" in it. I have been playing for three years, and when I first started out, I had brace. They're off now. Any suggestions are welcome.

Willens- new member

2. Markie

Markie Forte User

Jan 4, 2009
    Clarksburg, WV
    The shape of your tongue should be cupped like a spoon with the tip of your tongue on the roof of the mouth just behind the upper teeth. When you tongue, don't stop the air with your tongue. Generally you will get a "tat" sound instead of "ta" The tongue is just a mechanism for interupting the air flow. Remember, ta, ta, ta. Not Tat, tat, tat. Also each time you stop the air with your tongue (tat) you are doubling your work load.
    Keep the air flowing and use ta ta ta.

3. mchs3d

mchs3d Mezzo Forte User

Sep 30, 2005
    Provo, UT
    I use the articulation "du". That, for me, puts the tongue in the proper place when I use it. Again, I know it is cliche, but having a private teacher is the best way to fix this.

4. Bob Grier

Bob Grier Forte User

May 4, 2007
    Greensboro, NC
    I agree that a private teacher is the only way. You need to be coached to solve the problem. It's not just about using the tongue properly, it's also about air flow. You've been tonguing this way for a while which means it's a habit. You need someone to coach you to train yourself to play with good habits. Got a web cam? the first one's free!

5. dks4011

dks4011 New Friend

Jan 16, 2007
    Black Earth, Wisconsin