Too much practicing??

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by RHSbigbluemarchingband, Mar 22, 2009.

1. RHSbigbluemarchingband

RHSbigbluemarchingband Mezzo Piano User

Jan 17, 2009
    Okay i am a perfectionist when it comes to trumpet playing nd it normally hurts me in someway. i have over done it so bad that i have had to miss two auditions because i couldnt play. well lets just say that my band director at this point tells me not to bring home my trumpet so that i dont practice. Turns out on saturday i practiced for well over nine hours. That is a shocker considering i am a freshman girl. i dont know how i practiced that long but the only thing that stopped me was it was eleven o'clock nd we live in a condominium building :shock:. Well now its the next day and i am going insane. my chops are fine but over the last twenty-four hours i have drank one gallon of water is this a result of my trumpet playing? i am still thirsty this has never happened before anybody have any answers?

Last edited: Mar 22, 2009
  2. veery715

veery715 Utimate User

Mar 6, 2007
    Ithaca NY
    You know you are overdoing it, so why not just wise up and moderate your practice. Missing auditions should tell you something, although I suspect you sabotaged yourself unintentionally in order to not have to go face the pressure of auditioning. You need to take a good look at that and be honest with yourself when you do it.

Impatience is a hallmark of trumpet players, and now is the time to realize that being more deliberate will get you further in the long run. It is OK to be an over-achiever, but it can become an obsession, which is not healthy. Better to practice one hour really focusing on what you are doing, then to play 9 hours - it simply is not possible to stay in the groove for that long.