Totally Sad About Elkhart

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by misty.sj, Jan 28, 2008.

1. misty.sj

misty.sj Forte User

Jan 27, 2008
    Brisbane, Australia
    I live in northern Indiana, not too far from Elkhart. Isn't it sad that all of the horn manufacturers like Holton, Conn, Blessing, Selmer, Getzen, and others, have closed their doors or been consolidated? Even the legendary Woodwind & Brasswind store got bought by another company a few years ago. It just seems like Elkhart has lost a huge musical legacy. Any thoughts?

2. Jude

Jude Piano User

Dec 2, 2007
    Well, Conn was asking for it - they bought out a Massachusetts instrument maker (Fiske) and after just a few years - when they made the Worcester - Elkhart Wonder cornets - closed the plant and moved production back to Indiana. Not that we're holding a grudge, here in Mass., of course. But it was only a little over a hundred years ago. (As an IU grad, I'm less bitter about it than some.)

3. MrClean

MrClean Piano User

Oct 22, 2005
    SoCal
    Getzen? Something you're not telling us, Brett?

4. misty.sj

misty.sj Forte User

Jan 27, 2008
    Brisbane, Australia
    Maybe I was wrong about Getzen! :) I was on Wikipedia and also saw mention of a company called Buescher, where Mr. Blessing got his start I believe. I had not heard of that one. But I do recall a 'Besser' or 'Bessert' .. am I smoking crack?

5. tatakata

tatakata Mezzo Forte User

May 29, 2007
    :D

6. tatakata

May 29, 2007
    good question misty. hard to tell over the web :D I am with you. I think it is a very sad state of affairs/ Bach used to be king and now its a joke.

7. misty.sj

misty.sj Forte User

Jan 27, 2008
    Brisbane, Australia
    If I am smoking crack it's sure as hell not any fun ! LOL

8. rowuk

rowuk Moderator Staff Member

Jun 18, 2006
    Germany