Tounguing

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by anthony, Mar 8, 2014.

1. anthony

anthony Mezzo Piano User

Mar 3, 2009
    Hi I am having trouble with tonguing (even spelling it correctly ha ha)my teacher shows me correct way but he says I am doing correct but sometimes it doesn't feel right. .this keep blowing and stopping air with tongue is kind of hard to get right. .Anthony

2. mush-mouth

mush-mouth Pianissimo User

Aug 3, 2009
    I'm no expert but I've been working on this a lot recently and have a couple of observations:

1. I don't think of the tongue stopping the air stream, just interrupting it momentarily.
    2. You have to keep your air stream very steady and consistent through the tonguing.

The way it feels to me when I'm doing it right is that the tongue is almost "bouncing" off the air stream like a well-thrown stone skipping across a lake.

3. tobylou8

tobylou8 Utimate User

Dec 22, 2008
    Virginia
    What he said and copious amounts of practice until you get proficient.

4. Dr.Mark

Dr.Mark Mezzo Forte User

Apr 5, 2011
    Hi anthony,
    Tonguing is easier than you think. We tend to make it hard when we place a trumpet against our lips.
    Here's something to try:
    1. Play C and single tongue it lightly "ta" "ta" "ta" "ta" "ta" "ta" "ta" "ta"
    Listen closely, there's a chance you are saying "tat" "tat" "tat" "tat" "tat"
    Don't stop the air with your tongue. It's 'ta" "ta" "ta". Don't let the tongue end up at the top of the mouth when you tongue a note. The tongue should be down as if saying open up wide and say "aaaa".
    ----------------------------------------
    Without a trumpet, vocalize this snippet:
    ta-ta-ta-ta-ta-ta-ta-ta-ta-ta-ta taka taka taka taka taka
    Can you do it? Of course you can because it's very easy to verbalize these sounds.
    Now do it again and notice how your tongue behaves. Wow!! the tongue stays loose and flexible doesn't it?