TOUR STOP #2--FATPAULY

Discussion in 'Horns' started by fatpauly, Feb 24, 2004.

1. fatpauly

fatpauly Pianissimo User

Nov 11, 2003
    Ellicott City, Maryland
    Well, being that I had the second ticket to Brother Tom's Travelling Wild Thing Show, and it has now progressed to the next person, I guess it is my turn to jot down my impressions of this instrument. As Pat (trickg) has already mentioned, I came over to his place last Monday and we had a little horn-fest. I brought over 5 of my horns for him to check out, and got to play his. I also could not resist trying out the Wild Thing at that time.

Before I get into specifics, let me give you some information about my experience as a trumpet player. I started playing in the 6th grade and played through the 8th grade. Starting in high school, I abandoned the trumpet for cello, then abandoned the cello for a reel-to-reel deck in college. After a 30-year hiatus, I decided to get back into playing trumpet in January 2003. I bought a new horn (a Zeus Guarnerius), took a few months worth of lessons, started buying horns like crazy off ebay and other locations, and here I now sit. I do not play in any bands or at church or anywhere other than my own house. My crazy work schedule makes that impossible. Also, I am a bit of an iconoclast as far as playing - poor practice habits, playing many horns and mouthpieces in a sitting, and really progressing with no direction. Mostly I just want to play the sounds I hear in my head, and maybe someday they will get recorded in my studio.

So, with that information on the table, let me say that when I play a new (to me) horn, the first 5 or 10 minutes of playing make a great impression on me. What was my impression of the Wild Thing after playing it for 5 minutes?

What a beast it is!