Transporting horns on motorcycle

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by thomasando, Feb 23, 2014.

1. thomasando

thomasando New Friend

Aug 1, 2013
    Qld, Australia
    This is something I thought might have been asked already, but a search turned up nothing (though a few similar questions for bicycles).

I'm needing to do some regular travel to receive some lessons (~100km each direction) and my 'gigging area' typically encompasses a radius of about 250km. To save in some fuel costs with all the travel (for times when I only need to pack light) I'm looking at getting a motorbike.

I'd need to transport at most 2 horns and an ipad/music folders. I currently have two cases which will achieve this - a protec triple trumpet (with Bb and flugel) and a bach triple gig bag (for C and Bb).

I'm new to motorbikes too so very green on what's available in terms of carrying stuff. My requirements that I can see are:
    - Ability to waterproof (via a bag rain jacket/cover if necessary)
    - Sturdy case (ie. more than just a 'bag')
    - Not a backpack - must be able to be attached to/carried on the bike somehow.

Does anybody carry horns regularly on a motorbike, and if so, what do you use/how do you achieve it?

Tom

2. Peter McNeill

Peter McNeill Utimate User

Jan 30, 2009
    Melbourne Australia
    I don't ride a motorbike, but if I did I would seriously look at the Torpedo cases. Get Panniers for the iPad and music.

It is not the normal riding conditions, it is the crash and fall you need to worry about. Queenslanders don't see bikes period....too much sun and short skirts to divert the eye.

Welcome to TM, tell us more about yourself

3. thomasando

thomasando New Friend

Aug 1, 2013
    Qld, Australia