trouble with higher notes

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by daveblue222, Dec 17, 2009.

1. daveblue222

daveblue222 New Friend

Aug 19, 2009
    I have been playing for about 5 months now and am finding it hard to reach anything above the high e within the stave. even when i do reach the desired note it sounds to forced and loud. whats the best way to improve range. im not aiming to play anything super high, just to about the g above f on the stave. also is there a better way to refer to notes when describing octaves, instead of saying i.e two Cs above middle C?

all help greatly appreciated

:play:

2. bagmangood

bagmangood Forte User

I wouldn't worry about not having an upper register after 5 months. I couldn't even hit the c in the middle of the staff consistently after 3.

Range comes with time, patience and (most importantly) intelligent practice. Don't force anything before it wants to - it'll only frustrate you. Testing and strengthening the upper register is good, but don't force anything.

3. bobd0

bobd0 Piano User

Jan 10, 2009
    Hi Dave,

I started playing again about five months ago too -- after forty years away from the horn. Then I read a thread here on developing range wherein Rowuk recommended "Twenty-Seven Groups of Exercises for Cornet and Trumpet" by Earl D. Irons. I got lucky and found a used copy for a few dollars on eBay.

I read and followed the instructions very carefully. I played the initial lip slur Irons recommends to learn "Tongue Control" for WEEKS until I got the hang of it. THEN I TOOK MY TIME WITH THE FIRST SET OF EXERCISES until I was ready to advance to the next set.

I've had the book for about four months and I'm only up to the third set of exercises, groups 8, 9, and 10, but group 10 slurs up to high Bb (two spaces above the staff). I just about own that note now and I reach the occasional high B and C. It took me YEARS to achieve that range when I first began playing all those years ago.