Trouble With Mouthpiece Pressure and air problem

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Crusadead, Oct 31, 2007.

1. Crusadead

Crusadead New Friend

Oct 31, 2007
    Canada
    Hey guys, I've been playing trumpet for 4 years, and have been taking lessons from a professional big band trumpet player for 1 year. Ever since I have started playing trumpet, I can never seem to not get a red ring around my lips. I've asked my teacher about this, and she said to use less pressure. As simple as it sounds, I cannot get a full sound I usually get without using a little bit of pressure, and with a little bit of pressure I still get a red ring. I'm so worried about this red ring because my trumpet teacher told me that I wouldn't be able to play very long in one session with it, and I wouldn't allow my embrochure to grow very well. The other day I played for two hours straight with a red ring, and I still could play well, but I lost 3-4 notes in my range. Does this mean my red ring is normal or should I use some sort of technique not to get the red ring? Also, my teacher makes me do the Chicowicz flow exercises. I can make it up to the high G, but after that, I can't seem to go higher. Using faster air is essential my teacher says, and to do this I have to move my tongue up by saying E. But while doing the chicowicz exercises, it feels like my tongue is as heavy as a hunk of gold, so I can't move it up. What should I do about this?

2. Miyot

Miyot Pianissimo User

Jul 22, 2007