Trumpet angle

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by WHISTLEPIGSBAND, Feb 16, 2009.

1. WHISTLEPIGSBAND

WHISTLEPIGSBAND New Friend

Jan 20, 2009
    i have been playing trumpet for 35 years and for most of that time i have done my share of experimenting with different pieces & embouchures.
    i have recently made a change that seems to improve my playing. i have always played a little off center on my chops. slightly to the right. i have, however, always held the horn straight out from my face. after closely watching other players that play off center, i have noticed that most of them hold the horn at an angle. not an up or down angle, but an angle that points the horn to the right or left depending on which side of center they play on. so i hold the horn now pointing to the right. looking straight out, i see the left edge of the bell. doin this for 5 months now and it seemed to help rite from the start. attacks are cleaner and accuracy has improved. endurance is also better. i think that it is because the pressure is more evenly distributed. since your teeth are curved, if you play off center, you should follow the curve so the piece sets pressure evenly up and down and side to side. i tried this after seeing mf on vidieo. he held the horn at quite an angle to the right. i have seen other players do the same thing. anyway, it seems to help. does anyone think this is an important concept or am i just overanalyzing myself and other players.

2. Brass crusader

Brass crusader Mezzo Piano User

Well, trumpet angle(vertically and horizontally), can have an effect on your embouchre. Different styles/methods of playing will address this. I play with a few players who play off-center, I personally do not. However, if it is helping you play, I see no reason for you to not continue this.

Good Luck!

3. VetPsychWars

VetPsychWars Fortissimo User

Nov 8, 2006
    Greenfield WI