Trumpet buying/Trying advice for an old amatuer

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by PatMurphy, Mar 19, 2011.

1. PatMurphy

PatMurphy Pianissimo User

Aug 9, 2009
    Cherry Hill NJ
    I am looking for some advice in choosing a trumpet.
    I have been playing for years. Only jam sessions since I am self taught.
    Can’t read, just learned to play by listening and playing
    I am a very aggressive dynamic player. Very loud then soft, high C-D (about all the range I have) then down to below Low C. I bend notes, especially blues. The audience in and around Phila. seem to be pleased with my licks.

I had a 1950s Selmer that I had grown to love, lots of back pressure and all.
    Sadly someone walked off with it. Shame on me!

I have been playing a Callet Jazz model. I just do not get the satisfaction I had. I feel like when I want to really push it, I want more than it has to give.
    While I am not a professional I get so much enjoyment it is worth paying what it takes if I can get satisfied. I reviewed the “decent inexpensive” horn suggestions but since I have cashed almost 100 social security checks it will probably be my last one and so has to be the one that makes me feel satisfied when I play.
    I will be going to Dillons and want some guidance as to where to start.
    I understand about trying 3, reject 2 and try 3 more
    I am looking for guidance as to where to start with my style so as not to waste time and get ear fatigue. I understand the exact horn will be the one that fells best. I don’t mind trying 10-20 but 100 is too much

An Olds Mendez?, Martin Committee, Lawler, Harrelson, VanCleve, Kanstul, another Selmer, Shilke. A Bach (there are so many models and number I have no clue what they mean or where to start).
    I have been playing a Bach 3D MP and am also considering a wedge.
    Tried it one and it seemed to give me a fuller sound

Thanks in advance for any advice
    Pat Murphy
    Callet Jazz trumpet
    Martin Committee cornet