Trumpet Collection

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by schleiman, Sep 3, 2010.

1. schleiman

schleiman Piano User

May 12, 2010
    Austin, TX
    Hi there again everyone! I am a beginner comeback player, and trumpets fascinate me! Not just playing the horn , which I am enthralled with, but also the design and build of them. Would anyone care to share some of their trumpet eye candy with me? I know lots of you have nice collections. If your interested I would love to see and hear a little bit about them. I'm considering just starting to snatch up horns so I can feel how different ones play and sound. As well as really take a close look at how they are constructed. I wish to educate myself, I want to bathe in brass! *metaphorically speaking, ouch!*

2. SteveRADavey

SteveRADavey Pianissimo User

May 25, 2010
    Austin, TX
    Hi, schleiman

You are not alone; drooling over horns is a widespread obsession here. So much so that there is already a very long thread dedicated to just that. Go to the 'vintage trumpets/cornets' section of the forums, and you'll see 'vintage horn eye candy' called out at the top of the list.

If brand new horns are more your style, you may have to search around a bit, but there is no shortage of material.
    Enjoy,

- Steve-o

3. schleiman

schleiman Piano User

May 12, 2010
    Austin, TX
    Hey thanks! And as I have a 60's Leblanc, I am VERY interested in vintage horns!

4. veery715

veery715 Utimate User

Mar 6, 2007
    Ithaca NY
    Careful, schleiman! There is a serious condition known as the N+1 virus, which can be transmitted by simply reading posts here at TM. Once affected, you may be incurable.

I began my comeback only 4 years ago, with a single horn. I now have over 20!

5. belgianmav@yahoo.com

[email protected] New Friend

Sep 3, 2010