trumpet for a begginer

Discussion in 'Horns' started by stormcrow, May 21, 2008.

1. stormcrow

stormcrow New Friend

May 21, 2008
    Howdy all,

I'm a guitar player looking to expand my horizons a bit. I'm pretty serious about the guitar, and it will always be my main instrument, I've just had the urge lately to pick up something else and play it on the side for fun (and who knows, maybe it could get more serious?). I thought to myself, "what would be the most opposite instrument I could play?". And thus, the trumpet came to mind.

I know nothing... NOTHING about trumpets. Well, other than that I like the sound it produces. This is where you come in. I'm not looking to spent alot of money ($500ish max). I just want something I can learn on and have some fun with.

And being a total noob I also need some kind of instruction book/cd/dvd/whatever to get me started in the right direction. Something FUN where I'll actually learn how to play tunes (I recognize the need for scales and such tho).

THx!

2. Bruin

Bruin Pianissimo User

Mar 21, 2008
    L.A.
    Based on your description re purpose and $, I'm sure the folks in here will advise you to go with a good quality used horn from eBay, Craigslist.com, etc.

The Yamaha student models (e.g., YTR-2335) are noted as being very good. Here's an example from eBay:

Yamaha YTR-2335 Trumpet - eBay (item 260242148154 end time May-22-08 07:48:00 PDT)

Here's a brand-new one for $539:

BRAND NEW YAMAHA YTR2335 Bb TRUMPET **FREE SHIPPING** - eBay (item 200224172822 end time May-24-08 13:11:14 PDT)

I recently bought a near-brand-new Jupiter flugelhorn JFH-846S at eBay for $540 including shipping, which was an outstanding deal.

So, good deals are out there.

3. screamingmorris

screamingmorris Mezzo Forte User

Apr 4, 2007
    I agree with the first response.

Yamaha 2320 or 2335

Bach 300

Holton 602

Getzen 300

I once had all 4 in my house at the same time so I was able to test-drive them side-by-side.