Trumpet/French Horn

Discussion in 'Orchestra / Solo / Chamber Music' started by trumpet blower88, Jun 15, 2005.

1. trumpet blower88

trumpet blower88 Mezzo Piano User

Jun 15, 2005
    Flagstaff, AZ
    Hey everyone, I've been playing trumpet for the last 8 years in my school band. Last year I played second trumpet in my schools top orchrestra. Now this year I've made principal trumpet in the top orchrestra, and I've been asked to play French Horn in the lower erchrestra. I've heard from many people that playing French Horn can really mess up my Trumpet playing. Does anyone have any opinions about that? I've talked it over with both of my directors and they don't think it will be a problem, that my lip has developed strong enough that it'll take more than just doubleing on Horn to really screw up my chops. But I hear from so many people that that doubleing on Horn can be one of the worst things for a trumpeter to do. Do any of you guys or gals have any opinions on this? Should I play Horn, or should I stick to Trumpet?
    Thanks,
    Dave

2. Manny Laureano

Manny Laureano Utimate User

Sep 29, 2004
    USA
    I've never heard a horn/trumpet player that sounded EQUALLY as good on both. A trumpeter can develop a nice high register on horn but I've never heard one that had a great lower register on horn as it should sound.

ML

3. Tootsall

Tootsall Fortissimo User

Oct 25, 2003
    Yee HAW!
    "Correct" embouchure placement on French horn is 2/3 top, 1/3 bottom. This will mess up your trumpet set which is "usually" 1/2 - 1/2. Of course there ARE exceptions and maybe you are one of them.

4. rjzeller

rjzeller Forte User

Mar 7, 2005
    Rochester, MN