Trumpet Grades? Whaa?

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Alex_C, Nov 1, 2010.

1. Alex_C

Alex_C Piano User

May 30, 2010
    Gilroy, California
    Ok now I'm all curious, what are trumpet "grades"? I don't mean the grade of trumpet, like student or intermediate or pro, I mean, like someone on here was talking about studying to pass his "grade 8" test or something, and I don't think he's in the 8th grade in elementary school, I think there are grades of trumpet playing.

I'm wondering, is this a Suzuki thing? Or some series of books I don't know about? Or something you do when you're a music major in college?

2. craigph

craigph Piano User

Mar 12, 2010
    Japan
    No, its not a Suzuki thing. As far as I know there are graded levels for all classical instruments. Any young people who study an instrument formally would likely use materials aimed at their grade level, and take a practical exam at that grade once a year or so.

I studied both piano and trumpet when I was young and took all of the practical and theory exams offered by the Royal Conservatory of Music (a Canadian body) as well as exams from the Associated Board for the Royal Schools of Music (a British organization). (I am Canadian but grew up in Bermuda, a British colony, which is why I did both kinds of tests.) I think the RCM has 11 (practical) grades, while the ABRSM has 8 levels. I am not sure what the name of the system is in the US or how the grading compares to the system in Canada and Britian, but that is likely what the posters you read were referring to.

3. samej

samej New Friend

Apr 22, 2010
    Bristol, Uk
    Yep,