Trumpet in C?

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by facerunt, Mar 27, 2009.

1. facerunt

facerunt New Friend

Mar 16, 2009
    Hello to everyone!

First off, I know that this topic must have been discussed a kazillion times before, maybe even more than the "Chicken or the egg" topic.

I apologise, and I will understand if I'll get deleted or redirected.

Here's the issue. I've been playing the trumpet for over 11 years now, and no I don't know how to read music. I've always played by ear.

This has always been a big issue for me, a big obstacle I've never been able to surpass. I know it's all about goodwill and being willing to study a bit. But my question isn't about this.

My question is, since I want to take trumpet playing seriously, wouldn't it be easier for me to buy a trumpet in C and learn to read just like any other music player?

Wouldn't it be easier???? Can I still play jazz music with a trumpet in C?

Thanks y'all for your patience.

2. Genesis3003

Genesis3003 Pianissimo User

Nov 3, 2008
    North Dakota
    you can play jazz with a c, but it won't make reading music any easier. you read it the same way, the only difference is when you think concert pitch or if you are transposing or transcribing something.

3. tunefultrumpet

tunefultrumpet Pianissimo User

Apr 9, 2008
    New Zealand