Trumpet Lessons

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by isuckattrumpet, Sep 15, 2014.

1. isuckattrumpet

isuckattrumpet Pianissimo User

Oct 30, 2013
    God Bless America
    Hi friends,

I am going on an international tour next summer with the youth orchestra that I'm in. The cost for the trip is nearly $5000. Let's just say my parents aren't very happy about it :lol:
    Anyway, they told me that I will have to get a job to help pay for the trip. I am a seventeen year old high school student and my options for jobs are limited to fast food restaurants and whatnot. But I came up with another idea... how about trumpet lessons? I was thinking something like $15/half hour. Does that sound reasonable? How would I even know if I'm a competent teacher? Or should I just discuss this with my own trumpet instructor first... :D

Thanks!!

2. Peter McNeill

Peter McNeill Utimate User

Jan 30, 2009
    Melbourne Australia
    Stick to the Fast Food outlet, Lumber yard, Labouring etc.

A teacher that is not a teacher can leave a lot of problems in their wake, and affect the future of some younger players. You are not qualified to teach.

3. Vulgano Brother

Vulgano Brother Moderator Staff Member

Mar 23, 2006
    Parts Unknown
    ISAT, yeah, I know, teaching one hour of lessons equals about four hours flipping burgers in terms of pay, but I'm going to suggest that you get a real part-time job.

Frankly, I'm not sure you know enough about the trumpet to teach it properly, and I think your parents are expecting you to gain a valid life experience the old-fashioned way, flipping burgers, washing cars or some doing some other unglamorous job.

4. trumpetsplus

trumpetsplus Fortissimo User

Jun 11, 2006
    South Salem, NY
    I second the remarks already made.

Teaching is a vocation, not a job.

5. gbdeamer

gbdeamer Forte User

Oct 16, 2008
    I agree with the others that teaching should not be seriously considered.