Trumpet newbie

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Kantza, Jun 5, 2012.

1. Kantza

Kantza Pianissimo User

May 28, 2012
    Belgium
    Hello

I'm new to trumpets and I've a question (I've used the search but didn't found anything).

I'm trying to learn the trumpet by myself because I can't find a teacher where I live,
    Playing C1 D1 E1 F1 G1 isn't a big problem but playing above that is very hard, if I want to play the C2 (which almost never works)
    it feels like my lips are way to tight. I'm a little bit afraid to play too much because I don't want a bad embouchure...

I've looked in the Arban Complete Method and the first studie begins with a G1 and a C2, so I think it isn't normal that it seems so hard to me?

So, is it normal that the C2 is so hard to me? I'm looking for some tips...

Regards

2. mgcoleman

mgcoleman Mezzo Forte User

Jun 22, 2010
    Iowa
    Fill us in on where you live and there is a possibility someone on the forum might have some names of teachers who could help.

In the meantime, don't stress out about range (that's a slippery slope that can claim players with decades of experience). Work on relaxed breathing and getting a nice full tone.

3. Kantza

Kantza Pianissimo User

May 28, 2012
    Belgium
    I'm from Belgium (west-flanders)...

But not being able to play a C2 seems so wierd? The beginners scale everywhere is from C1 to C2. And a B1 is already hard...

4. Mud

Mud Pianissimo User

May 26, 2012
    Noblesville, IN
    That's wonderful that you are picking up trumpet! I understand the frusteration of not being able to find a tutor, but you will find this website very informative, if you look hard enough.
    I just joined as well, and I am sure there are many more experienced trumpet players here that can give you advise.
    But here is mine:

Its great that you JUST started, and you have already found The Arban's Book. I got it a couple months ago, and I've been playing for a few years!