Trumpet Physics

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Tootsall, Jan 8, 2004.

1. Tootsall

Tootsall Fortissimo User

Oct 25, 2003
    Yee HAW!
    OK...as an engineer I'll admit that I tend to get a little "geeky" about the physics of things from time to time. Anyway...I found a reference to this website "elsewhere" and I thought I'd share it here. Be happy to discuss the contents with those who have read it and "understand" (or even "think" they understand) what's being said.

http://joeleymard.free.fr/Benade/Trumpet73/Trumpet73.htm

At the same time, here is a second site that provides some basic information on the creation and sustenance of sound waves within brass tubing. You might be wise to read this one through before the one mentioned above:

http://hyperphysics.phy-astr.gsu.edu/hbase/music/brass.html#c1

One last site which perhaps says similar things in different words is that of Nick Drozdoff (whom I've made mention of before). Nick is a physics teacher who spent a stint playing with the MF band so he's got an "eyeball" on the situation from two sides at once. Check out:

http://www.geocities.com/Vienna/3941/

So if you've got trouble falling asleep at night...print these sites up and use them for bed-time reading! :D

2. Terry Layzell

Terry Layzell Pianissimo User

Dec 30, 2017
    Cambridge
    I find this interesting but the graph showing response doesn't show the frequencies of those responses or better still the notes which they produce. What does "6th harmonic of harmonic 2" mean in terms of what notes they represent?

3. rowuk

rowuk Moderator Staff Member

Jun 18, 2006
    Germany
    There is a big problem when we use the word Harmonic when we mean Partial. What they meant was the 6th harmonic (6 wavelengths in the length of the trumpet) of the second partial (low c when no valves are depressed).