Trumpet Playing Good (or Bad) For Lungs?

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by bamajazzlady, Jan 16, 2013.

1. bamajazzlady

bamajazzlady Mezzo Forte User

May 16, 2011
    Anyone know the positive and/or negative effects of trumpet playing on lungs?

2. acarcido

acarcido Forte User

Dec 28, 2009
    Ontario, Ca
    To my knowledge, I have not heard of playing trumpet being the cause of any lung or health related issues. A person can have allergies to brass, silver and some of the materials that make up the trumpet. I believe Trent has some type of allergy with the silver on the mouthpiece and he uses alternate metals to compensate for that. On the positive note: Playing trumpet is constant exercise for your lungs. If you swim and play horn, you should notice that you can hold your breath much longer than the average person. In my high scool days I was able to hold my breath for nearly 3 minutes under water.

Anyways, I'm no expert to answer your question properly. I am just donating my experience with how playing trumpet has affeected my lungs.

3. rockwell

rockwell Pianissimo User

Dec 6, 2011
    For what's worth a nurse told me it was a form of respiratory therapy because of the resistance - causes a stirring of the gases in the lungs.

4. Ed Lee

Ed Lee Utimate User

Aug 16, 2009
    Jackson NC
    I am under the care of a pulmonologist (lung Doc) and have COPD (my fault), a cardiologist and have vascular and heart iissues and both have said told me to continue as long as possible and to let them know when I can't. I wasn't a smart aleck to tell them my heirs would have to tell them that with all they've done to keep me alive.

5. gmonady

gmonady Utimate User

Jan 28, 2011
    Dayton, Ohio