Trumpet Related Injuries

Discussion in 'Trumpet Pedagogy' started by Alrocks, Feb 8, 2015.

1. Alrocks

Alrocks New Friend

Jan 22, 2015
    Devon, UK
    I'm new here. I started playing the trumpet 37 years ago, gave it up 34 years ago, and just started again a week ago.

I remember as a first trumpet in the school orchestra when I was aged about 10, I was warming up in the pit before a performance, when an incredibly obese tuba player barged through, sending music stands flying and pushing my trumpet and mouthpiece into my lips and splattering them all over my teeth. I think that was the day I leant to swear!

I'm curious to hear what trumpet related injuries other members of this forum have had?

Here's a photoshop I just made depicting a trumpet related injury my neighbours would like to give me as of this week!
    [​IMG]

trumpet_bum.jpg

Donald trumpet and Acludwig1 like this.
  2. robrtx

robrtx Mezzo Forte User

May 26, 2012
    Hawaii
    Wow! Bell first no less! You must've really ticked them off! :lol:

Many years ago I was playing in the pit orchestra for "Brigadoon" and I was accidentally kicked in the back of the head by one of the cast members during a dance segment. No injury but shocked the bejesus out of me and my section mates as I lurched forward............

3. 4INer

4INer Pianissimo User

Dec 31, 2013
    Not sure if this qualifies as an injury or a cure, but when I was in my early adolescence I tended to play with way to much pressure and tension. I would tense up my abdomen, chest, neck cheeks.... force the mouthpiece halfway down my throat, and blow as hard as I could. One day while playing a quadruple J# I pushed so hard that not only did my face turn all different shades of purple as my vision blurred and I got light headed, but all of my acne burst open all over the place. I haven't had a pimple since..................ROFLROFLROFL

4. Newell Post

Newell Post Piano User

Mar 31, 2014
    Silicon Valley