Trumpet Shopping Advice (Wanted)

Discussion in 'Horns' started by Bugler997, Mar 24, 2005.

1. Bugler997

Bugler997 Pianissimo User

Mar 22, 2005
    VA
    Manny,
    I'm currently a Freshman college student, a performance major). I own a Bb and a C, and am thinking of buying a piccolo or an Eb, once my grades improve (I'll consider my first semester a learning experience).

I'll discuss with my instructor as to whether I should get a pic or Eb, but could you be so kind as to give me some advice on what brand/bore/shank (cornette vs. trumpet)/&c. I should get, for either?

The upperclassmen recommend Schilke for both, but they keep trying to convert me to not using Monette mouthpieces (I REFUSE to use any other mouthiece), so that's something we don't agree on already, as far as desirable tone qualities go.

Thanks for your time, and keep up the great work,
    Aaron

P.S. Sorry, I write too much when I'm tired. =P

2. Manny Laureano

Manny Laureano Utimate User

Sep 29, 2004
    USA
    Dear Bugler,

I'm sorry to disappoint you but please understand that I don't like to get into "go get this brand or that brand horn" and I am completely uneducated when it comes to bore sizes and the like because it is inconsequential to me. I wouldn't know what a typical large bore vs. small bore was if you had a gun to my head.

My criteria are that:

1) the mouthpiece and horn combo allow me to play without using false fingerings
    2) the sound must be rich (fat and brilliant)
    3) it allows me to play a very wide range of dynamics without worrying about pitch
    4) it must be mechanically very solid
    5) the high register must very open and easy

Those are a few of my favorite things...

ML

3. Bugler997

Mar 22, 2005
    VA
    Manny,

Thanks for the responses. I'll keep those criteria in mind next time I go shopping.