Trumpet to cornet conversion...

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Musicadam, Jan 9, 2011.

1. Musicadam

Musicadam New Friend

May 1, 2009
    Newhaven, UK
    Hi there!

I've been playing trumpet for many years and without 'blowing my own' :-P I play to a reasonably good amateur standard.

I've played with a few (British) brass bands over the years and have been playing with my current band for over a year and a half as second chair solo cornet. They're the best standard band I've played with currently at the top end of the fourth section and have competed in the third section in the not too distant past.

The problem I've always had is not being able to 'convert' from trumpet to cornet. I play my trumpet...fine. I play my cornet...it's ok, nice even, but quite thick and a bit 'farty' without being breathy. I play trumpet again....fine. I'm really looking for that nice, fluid, 'narrow' brass band sound.

Now I fully understand the physical differences between the instruments and the resistance changes etc etc but nothing I try seems to do much good. I've never been able to get a nice, smooth, fluid sound on ANY cornet. I've tried many types at varying levels and have always found the same thing.

Generally, the upper register also suffers from 'A' upward, although I can get up there.

If there are any tips or advice on approaching this, I'd be very grateful to hear from you!

Many thanks in advance

Adam

2. ComeBackKid

ComeBackKid Fortissimo User

May 11, 2009
    Yorba Linda, CA
    How does your trumpet mouthpiece compare to the cornet ones you have tried? The MP can make a big difference in your sound - it certainly does for me.

3. Musicadam

Musicadam New Friend

May 1, 2009
    Newhaven, UK
    Hi!

I've tried Vincent Bach and Denis Wick MPs of comparible size to my trumpet Denis Wick MP (VB1 1/2C & DW 2B). I normally play on a Denis Wick Heritage now which seems to get the best results but still doesn't solve the problems.