Trumpet to Flugel Horn

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Warren Blacksand, Mar 6, 2005.

1. Warren Blacksand

Warren Blacksand New Friend

Mar 6, 2005
    b.c.
    Hello Folks

I'm an amateur trumpet player and I'm considering trying out flugel horn.
    Anyone play both?
    How hard is it to pick up for the average player? Is it harder/easier to play overall? I love the idea of the versatility that playing both would bring
    to a session. :-)

2. Tootsall

Tootsall Fortissimo User

Oct 25, 2003
    Yee HAW!
    Hi Warren. It should not be a problem at all (to double on both). Most of the top players double on these two and some folks even triple (adding cornet). Valving is the same, range is very close to the same.

Flugelhorns do have characteristics somewhat different from trumpet and once you "get into it" you'll want to buy a horn with certain characteristics (depending on what type of music you wish to use the flugel for). Be aware that there are two? or three different "tapers" of receiver so watch out and be sure to ask lots of questions when it comes time to start buying mouthpieces!

3. camelbrass

camelbrass Mezzo Forte User

Nov 5, 2003
    Dubai, UAE
    Hi Warren

I play both (and ocassionally cornet) and it's not a problem. Basically there are 3 broad types:

1. The smaller bore flugels ( 410/425)-modelled after the 'Queenie' French built flugels). Bach, Eclipse, Kanstul, new Getzen
    2. The medium bores (430/440). Yamaha, Lawler
    3. The larger bores (459/460). older Getzen, old Benge, Olds (?)

All have their own characteristic but in my opinion the smaller bores have the sweetest sound and the larger ones can sound a bit tubby..just my opinion though. The only thing that you really ahve to adjust with the smaller bore ones is to back off...they don't respond at all to pushing heaps of air through them (in fact if I try it the whole thing 'shuts down') but hey you're rewarded with the greatest sound.