Trumpet vs Cornet During Comeback?

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Jace, Apr 1, 2011.

1. Jace

Jace New Friend

Mar 19, 2011
    So for the past few months I have been trying like so many others to mount a comeback into playing the trumpet. Nothing overly serious just a few minutes a day after roughly five years of never touching it. It really feels wonderful to be making music again.

I have noticed improvement and am getting closer to where I was in high school but here is the question. I am moving down to college in a month and picked up an Olds Ambassador Cornet for cheap to take to school with me. Mainly so I don't have to worry about busting up or losing my trumpet.

I am concerned however that the differences in engineering between the instruments will throw me off. I have only ever played a single trumpet, the one I learned on and still use. I am mainly worried about the increased backpressure (or so I hear) and embouchure difference. I am just beginning to revist all this and am worried that the backpressure will amplify my bad breathing habbit. (I tense my upper body neck which affects my throat and the air pressure leaks into my sinuses, I'm working on breathing exercses to correct this but only started about a week ago and have a long road ahead.)

Theoretically is it better to stick to the trumpet or just switch and go for the cornet? Or is interchaning possible or even advised for that matter. I have a feeling that consitency is king in whichever route but I feel that I should get an informed opinion.

Anything even remotley related about trumpet, cornet and comebacks will help me.

Thanks.

(I know someone will say or ask about this but my teacher won't be available until I physically move down to school after Easter.)

2. craigph

craigph Piano User

Mar 12, 2010
    Japan