Trumpet vs. Flugel conundrum

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Asher S, Dec 2, 2010.

1. Asher S

Asher S Pianissimo User

Sep 20, 2009
    Suburban Boston
    I just acquired a very inexpensive flugelhorn, a Barrington, for $150 off the 'bay, just to play around with it. My only other horn is a restored 1958 Olds Ambassador with LA valves and #8 CCAP bottom caps. I've been playing trumpet on and off for about 30 years, always as an amateur (with no plans to ever turn pro- i.e. this is purely for fun for me).

Immediately I noticed that the inexpensive, Chinese-made flugelhorn slotted much easier all through my range (up to high C) and generally felt much more responsive than my Olds Ambassador. I noticed this using the same mouthpiece on each horn: a Monette Prana B2S3, which fit into the flugel and was in tune with the tuning slide left all the way into the lead pipe. The flugel valves seem to have a bit stronger spring-back action vs the 50 year old Olds, but this does not seem like a significant difference.

I went back and forth between the 2 horns several times, always with the same mouthpiece, and my observation held up consistently.

So my question is: Why might the flugel perform like this? I don't know any of the specs for it (bore size etc), but from what I've read on this site, those differences generally don't account for something this blatantly different. Could the difference in age account for this in some way?

Any insights are greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Asher

Last edited: Dec 2, 2010
  2. SmoothOperator

SmoothOperator Mezzo Forte User

Jul 14, 2010
    These kinds of statements are sort of dangerous.

I am not aware of the situation for trumpets and flugel horns, but recently I was researching violins and saxophones from China.

In general the problem with Chinese imports, is that they are stencils, and it is very difficult to track the precise maker of saxophone or violin and I expect rumpets are no different.