Try this if you'd like.

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by bach2112, Aug 15, 2010.

1. bach2112

bach2112 New Friend

Jun 12, 2010
    This isnt much of a question, but more of something to try. I am in high school about to enter my sophmore year. I have been playing for 4 almost 5 years starting in september. I have found something that hashelped me with my tone, endurance, range, and intonation. Every day before i start playing my trumpet, I buzz petal tones on my mouthpiece. I buzz as low as possible. I buzz some of my favorate songs to play down 2 octves. Then when the 30 minutes are up, i pick up my trumpet and begin to warm up. While warming up, i notice that i am hitting pitches in dead center and have an amazing tone. This continues for most of my 1 1/2 to 1 3/4 hour practice session. I do the same thing the next day, buzz for 30 and then play. But by the third day, i feel after i buzz and move on to playing, it seems that my endurance has dropped, my tone isnt as full, i cant play as high, and i am not hitting pitches in the center. So on the fourth day i dont buzz before i play, and just begin playing. I feel as if i am recovering from my loss of tone, endurance, range, and pitch centering. By the fifth day, i feel that am hitting higher notes than i has when buzzing, endurance was better than when buzzing, and pitches centered the same as when i was when buzzing. This is something to try to see if this bennifits you. It may not work as it did on because after all, everyone is diffirent. So try it if you want and give me your feedback. Thanks and happy playing:play:

2. crazyandy88

crazyandy88 Pianissimo User

Nov 3, 2007
    Fayetteville, AR