Trying to fix in the red embochure

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by TpetHunter, Dec 10, 2015.

1. TpetHunter

TpetHunter New Friend

Nov 27, 2015
    Hello everyone. I have a problem with my embochure that I currently play "in the red", meaning you can see the red of my lip at the top of the mouthpiece, which is apparently a serious issue that no one has addressed with me until now. I am in my first year of college and am in marching band, pep band , and next semester i am in either university band or concert band. I tried to not necessarily fix it, but messed with it in a practice room by doing lip slurs and long tones. After I was well warmed up this weird thing happened where I would try to do slurs and lip bends and my mouthpiece would slip back into the old playing style. I've talked to many people about this and some say I have to change it, and others say if it isn't broken, don't fix it. So what do you all think? any specific exercises I should do to fix the problem or should I just leave it since my tone, range, and style are pretty on par with a collegiate band? any comments appreciated.

2. Leslie Colonello

Leslie Colonello Pianissimo User

Dec 17, 2016
    Stay away from the mirror. Play with your ear not your eyes. If you are getting around the horn with no discernible problems you are doing it right. Don't be an analyst, be a musician. The folks who told you if it ain't broke don't fix it are correct. Take it from a guy who at one time or another has technically done everything wrong. After 50 years I'm still standing and still playing.

3. bbonner50

bbonner50 New Friend

Jun 2, 2016