Tuning with lead mouthpiece?

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Skelingtin, Feb 15, 2013.

1. Skelingtin

Skelingtin New Friend

Feb 5, 2013
    Hello everyone. I am a freshman at my high school and am using a Jet-Tone Custom DS B mouthpiece (yes the old version) that my private teacher gave me for our musical. The musical is Rodger's and Hammerstein's Cinderella. (I know its really not that difficult but I'm lacking in range a little and the only other player that can play the music is a sophomore so I was given 1st part as well) Anyway with this mouthpiece I can handle the music ok. I just have a HUGE issue with tuning. Typically anything past a D in the staff becomes very sharp. I still use my slides to counter but say if I play a F# with second its horrid. I also have a hard time matching up with my partner on 1st as well because its so bright. (He's on a model 37 Stead with a 5c if that's important)
    What should I do to not be sharp? I really can't switch mouthpieces because the show is coming up. I play on a Xeno with a reversed tuning slide also.

2. jiarby

jiarby Fortissimo User

May 7, 2011
    Arizona
    If you have to swap mpc's to play an F# on top of the staff you got bigger problems. Should be able to do that on anything. You're just not used to the new mpc. What was wrong with whatever you used to use?

Last edited: Feb 17, 2013
  3. gmonady

gmonady Utimate User

Jan 28, 2011
    Dayton, Ohio
    You need to find another mouthpiece that does not constrain your embouchure.

4. ultratrumpet

ultratrumpet Piano User

Jul 10, 2009
    Old Lyme, Connecticut
    When you raise the level of the tongue and if you contract the embouchure and you do not coordinate this with enough wind power and mouthpiece pressure you will go sharp, with a pinched sound.

Practice tongue level exercises / lip slurs with sufficient air support.

Last edited: Feb 16, 2013
  5. Skelingtin

Skelingtin New Friend

Feb 5, 2013