Tuning

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by LH123, May 20, 2011.

1. LH123

LH123 Piano User

May 14, 2010
    Could someone give me advice on tuning by ear? I'm new to orchestral trumpet playing and the requirement to tune to another instrument (and not a tuner). When the orchestra tunes, I can't tell if I'm out of tune or in tune. (So I'm pretty much relying on someone else to tell me...) It would be great if someone could suggest some things to listen for or some exercises to do to improve my ear.

BTW, I can hear the 'beats' when other instruments are out of tune. However, when I tune, I can't hear them. :dontknow: Should I be able to?

Thanks for all your help! :play:

2. LH123

LH123 Piano User

May 14, 2010
    One more thing... my trumpet (student model) has no triggers / rings on the 1st and 3rd slides. Because of this, some notes (such as middle d) are hopelessly out of tune. Suggestions on how to fix this?

3. bagmangood

bagmangood Forte User

For the first, only thing you can do is listen, and preferably play with people a lot

The second, you either need to learn to lip it (which may be difficult if the horn is a modern student horn), get a new horn (which won't necessarily be too expensive), or install some saddles on your current horn (which will run ~$50)

4. rowuk

rowuk Moderator Staff Member

Jun 18, 2006
    Germany
    Duets with someone better than you. Read the thread: what is intonation. No need to repeat everything here.

5. mrsemman

mrsemman Piano User

Apr 8, 2010
    Massachusetts
    Also, if you are taking lessons. Discuss your concerns with your teacher, or in the orchestra setting, with the conductor or other trumpet players. Just remember, you are all in the same "boat".

6. gmonady

gmonady Utimate User

Jan 28, 2011
    Dayton, Ohio