Two completly different views on buzzing

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by daveythewavey19, Oct 12, 2007.

1. daveythewavey19

daveythewavey19 New Friend

Jan 31, 2007
    I'm in my first semester in music school and I don't think I'm going to last very long. I have so many problems with my playing, I think it may not have been a good idea to major in music. But anyway, here's a common subject, BUZZING on the moutpiece.

My high school teacher, who taught me most everything i know and who himself is a great player, put almost no value on buzzing. Now at school, my teacher, also a great player, though I've never heard him play much, has us using four books for buzzing; Stamp, Thompson, Sachs, and some other book i forget the name of it.

Anyway, i see value in buzzing as a warmup tool but i don't see it as a major piece of trumpet playing. I mean, no one goes to a concert to hear mouthpiece buzzing.

My highschool teacher taught me to play on the leadpipe as a warm up so you get good tone. He would blow through the mouthpiece, bring it up to the horn, and there would be the note. no buzzing whatsoever.

Now im stuck buzzing 45 minutes a day in various patterns. And I feel like I'm getting worse. And it's frusturating because the Maxwell first trumpeter book we use says, "Everyone finds their own way of playing," yet my sucess at school depends on my changing my embacoure to fit my professors ideas.

What are you're opinions of buzzing? This is an overdisscused topic I realize but it's fundemental.

2. Vulgano Brother

Vulgano Brother Moderator Staff Member

Mar 23, 2006
    Parts Unknown