Unions

Discussion in 'Wise Talk!' started by Jimi Michiel, Oct 20, 2005.

1. Jimi Michiel

Jimi Michiel Forte User

Mar 22, 2005
    Boston
    Hi Wilmer,

I have some general questions about unions. At what point is it useful to join? I am a grad student who is trying to start gigging around town (I just moved to Minneapolis). My rates for weddings and such are above scale, but I have a weekly church gig that is slightly below scale. Would I have to give that up if I joined the union? I remember in high school I did a theatre gig that was non-union and my band teacher was not happy that I was a "scab."

The reason I ask is that I spoke with a former teacher of mine in Syracuse (who is not in the orchestra), where I am thinking about taking an audition, and he told me that members of the Local 78 would probably receive preference in getting invited to the audition. I'm in Syracuse a lot of the time when I'm not in school, but I don't know if joining that union to get a better shot at getting invited to the audition seems like a good idea.

Thanks,
    Jimi

PS. I'm sorry if I seem naive, I feel like I'm not really sure what questions to ask, but I know this will be more important as I get older...

2. wiseone2

wiseone2 Artitst in Residence Staff Member

Nov 19, 2003
    Brooklyn,NY
    Some orchestras have local auditions before even announcing an opening to the public. Union members are usually the first to know of any openings.
    Being a union member only opens the door, you get no extra points for being a cardholder.
    Wilmer

3. B15M

B15M Forte User

Dec 30, 2003
    Monroe Ct.
    For me I get jobs because I am in the union. I get along well with the contractor in my local and he calls me a lot. One other thing the union has done for me is, a couple of times I didn't get paid and they stepped in and got the money for me.

I don't think the union cares how much you get paid on non union jobs or if you play non union jobs.

That's how it works around here.