Upper register is airy

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by sfrey000, Aug 17, 2011.

1. sfrey000

sfrey000 New Friend

Dec 15, 2010
    Hi, I am a music education major in college and I have been playing the trumpet for about 7 years. Before getting started, I am very dedicated to the practice of fundamentals, and, although I can always improve, I believe I have them managed. My problem in the upper register is that when I am ascending I eventually reach a point (sometimes a high E or G) where the air is passing through the aperture unbuzzed. I use an open aperture (with a slight curl so that I am not on the soft inner tissue) with the Farkas embouchure, and I rely on tongue arch to achieve the fast air speeds. What should I do and how should I go about doing it?

Thanks,

2. jiarby

jiarby Fortissimo User

May 7, 2011
    Arizona
    find out what is killing the buzz... is it mpc pressure, weak corners, or lack of air support?

3. craigph

craigph Piano User

Mar 12, 2010
    Japan
    Did you talk to your trumpet prof(s) about this?

4. Peter McNeill

Peter McNeill Utimate User

Jan 30, 2009
    Melbourne Australia
    +1

If you find yourself dropping off the note, then it is your chops, and just keep with the practice.
    If it is unbuzzed air, then probably pressure - and this is shutting down the buzz. Get a trumpet player to watch you and try to help you analyse what you are doing. It could be any of the 3 mentioned by jiarby

5. frankmike

frankmike Piano User

Dec 5, 2008
    its the embouchure. farkas is bad embouchure. Try to set the embouchure so that soft inner tissue vibrates. And improve air support

oh, and close the aperture.

and just listen to faddis -ljust istening to faddis does mirracles

6. rowuk

rowuk Moderator Staff Member

Jun 18, 2006
    Germany
    Who comes up with this aperature crap? Why would ANYONE make an effort to keep the aperature open?