Urgent help needed, concert in 5 days and I can't play properly anymore

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by derukun, Nov 24, 2013.

1. derukun

derukun New Friend

Nov 21, 2013
    I've been playing trumpet in school for about 5 years now, and while I wasn't ever particularly good I still had decent range and sound ( C above the staff).

I play in a youth orchestra and the concert is this Saturday.

However, ever since last week, I haven't been able to play properly at all. My throat locks up beyond octave E, and my bottom lip seems to hurt a bit. My range is completely shot which is a big problem because all of the pieces being played at the concert require me to play above that E ...

From what I can recall, nothing has really changed in terms of my embouchure... it's positioned the same way on my lips and I can buzz fine (though on a mouthpiece my range has shortened as well. As soon as I approach higher notes, it just becomes air instead of a buzz).

I think I already developed some sort of subconscious barrier playing upper register after so many failed attempts this week and my throat just refuses to let any air through.

I think I'm completely screwed for this concert.

Can anyone help me? :(

2. Peter McNeill

Peter McNeill Utimate User

Jan 30, 2009
    Melbourne Australia
    If you are just getting air, then you are cutting off the airflow, so maybe applying too much mouthpiece pressure.

Check these out - and think about how you play.
    How to Play Trumpet [James Morrison Way] - 4/13 - Range - YouTube

Trumpet Lesson 5 - SHAPE 08/06/11 - YouTube
    05/04/11 Winners, Harmonic Slurs, Aperture - YouTube

5 Days to go is not long, but practice slurs and harmonic progressions without mpce pressure.
    Good luck

ps when you get past this week, go check out MTM vids - they will help you longer term.

3. derukun

derukun New Friend

Nov 21, 2013