Using pressure to improve tone.

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by SmoothOperator, Jan 10, 2011.

1. SmoothOperator

SmoothOperator Mezzo Forte User

Jul 14, 2010
    I have been practicing with the low pressure and low mouthpiece force for a while. Recently though I have found that the only way to get a consistently good tone throughout the range of the horn is to pucker my lips up and apply a small amount of pressure.

I can hit the notes above and below the staff, but they just don't sound very good, every time without a little pressure.

Is this normal, or a slippery slope? I think it is odd, that I need the pressure in the low range too, almost backing off into the high range, also I don't seem to need any more lung force and if anything it seems I need less.

2. Satchmo Brecker

Satchmo Brecker Piano User

Jul 19, 2010
    Very good question. I'm sure some vets will chime in soon. I'm a relative newbie and I've found I do need to pucker a little in different registers. BUT...I'm thinking like you that might not be correct. The pros I've seen close up, like on youtube, always seem to not vary their lips one bit. I was really struck by this watching a Miles video where it zoomed in real close, while he played stuff above/in/below the staff and his chops didn't vary at all.

3. Markie

Markie Forte User

Jan 4, 2009
    Clarksburg, WV
    SmoothOperator asks:
    I can hit the notes above and below the staff, but they just don't sound very good, every time without a little pressure. Is this normal, or a slippery slope?
    ----
    Yep. Just be careeful to not add a lot of pressure as you go up. We never get rid of pressure, we learn to control it. If you find yourself using too much pressure, STOP PLAYING, blow out the lips like a horse, take a drink of water, and reset the lips onto the mouthpiece and get back to playing.

4. trickg

trickg Utimate User

Oct 26, 2003
    Baltimore/DC