Valve venting...

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by ShaneChalke, May 7, 2014.

1. ShaneChalke

ShaneChalke Pianissimo User

Dec 11, 2008
    Banner Elk, NC
    So, I've been playing a Marcinkiewicz Rembrandt for jazz gigs for the last 2 years or so. I bought the horn new, and the 3rd valve has always dragged a slight bit. Not enough to send the horn back, but just enough to be annoying at times. I thought the valves would loosen up over time, and they have a wee bit, but the 3rd valve still bothers me. However, I was reading another thread about sticky valves, and someone mentioned that one of the valve vents could be clogged. I've been playing the horn for 46 years, and didn't even know valves had vents! So cleaning my horn tonight I blow into the bottom of each valve. To my surprise, the venting of valves 1 and 2 is quite open, but there is a lot more resistance in the venting of valve 3. Could this be my issue? If so, what do I do about this?

2. musicalmason

musicalmason Forte User

Dec 14, 2003
    Pa
    Could be. Time for a tech.

3. trumpetsplus

trumpetsplus Fortissimo User

Jun 11, 2006
    South Salem, NY
    This is when a little knowledge, and the internet, can be dangerous. Valves are hollow because that is how it is most practical to make them. "Venting" is the process of drilling a hole into the side of the valve at the point which is adjacent to the entry to the valve slide when the valve is in the up position. "Venting" allows the movement of the slide without creating a vacuum.

Whilst blocking the hole in the bottom cap with your thumb, work the valve up and down. The action of the valve will not change. If it does, you need to claim a new valve from the maker.

Valve problems are caused by Dirt, Damage, or Distortion. Have someone skilled in the art check your instrument thoroughly, but please do not confuse them with your guesstimated theories.

Here is an extract from one of my blogs concerning this: